Rinse and Repeat

“I don’t want to read everything. I just want to read the 100 great books over and over again.”

The gift of reading was an innate gift of mine.

I was reading by three and began Harry Potter by the first grade.

But after about the age of 10, I didn’t pick up a book for pleasure until about 20.

There we’re a number of reasons, but the most prominent was the fact that the education system I was placed in sucked the fun out of reading.

Something free and exploratory as reading became a graded task.

You were taught to read to completion: To comprehend but not apply.

And nowadays 99% of people read tweets, comments, and reviews.

Just snacking on dopamine all day with no end.**

If you want quick recommendations on what to read next tap into Top 20 Books to Read on the Analects website.

Or even pick up a bookmark if the spirit moves you — few remain.

**you’re receiving this on a Sunday because I was too hungover one Monday and I must keep up with 52 weeks of 5 posts per week.

Lets hold ourselves accountable.