When Productivity Meets Mobility

Salutations from the Washington DC suburbs. Here we are with another Scroll dedicated to introduce you to resources and ideas I find week after week.

I appreciate all the feedback and ideas that have been sent over through the weeks, I’ve taken each into consideration.

Something to Read:

So I’ve made the decision to not read a single book in 2021.

Yes you read that right, but let me rephrase. I will not read a new book in 2021.

Now there’s one thing to read a book a week, but why focus on completion over application?

And one book I reread on a train to Philadelphia was Tim Ferriss’ “Four Hour Workweek” — talk about an ambitious title.

A section that stood out to me was dedicated to time optimization and avoiding input overload, something I still struggle with to this day.

Four hypothetical questions to help you separate the essential versus the nonessential:

  1. If you had a heart attack and had to work two hours per day, what would you do?

  2. If you had a gun to your head and had to stop doing 80% of different time consuming activities, what would you remove?

  3. What are top three activities that I use to fill time to feel as though I’ve been productive?

    1. I’ll start: Inbox clean-up, planning my week out.

  4. Learn to ask “If this is the only thing I accomplish today, will I be satisfied with my day?”

    1. The longer the to-do list, the less of a chance that it’s completed. 

    2. Fun fact: My to-do list never goes over 3 tasks per day.

Something to Watch:

CPT Adam Schafer’s Best Mobility Exercises To Do Before Your Workout

I now do all but one of what was shown after watching this video. As I navigate through my 20’s, I’ve been getting serious about mobility and maintaining my flexibility.

A Song to Listen to:

Blest Jones - BAD (feat. Xzavian & MightNot)
Quick backstory: Met Blest artist 3 years ago in the Bahamas and we’ve been in contact ever since.

Listen to this track and many others on Formula by Modern Analects

A Quote to Think About:

“Keeping one’s distance from an ignorant person is equivalent to keeping company from a wise man.”

Ali bin Abi Thalib