Why old friends keep you poor...

Hard truths lead to clear visions

Welcome to another edition of The Scroll — the newsletter that'll make you more well rounded in less than 10 minutes.

Happy bank holiday for many of our American readers!! Hope this note doesn't get lost in the shuffle of everything else coming in your inbox today.

What's inside this edition?? 

  • How I made a couple hundred $$ by selling bookmarks

  • A video on how old friends can keep you poor

  • A tweet about controlling your ego

Reminder: To make sure this newsletter slides into your inbox every week, take these following steps:

  • Gmail: Move to your primary inbox.

  • Apple Mail: Star me! Add to your VIP list.

  • Outlook: Right click this email > junk > never block sender

Was this email forwarded to you?

Something to Read:

The Best Ideas Come When You Least Expect Them

The first Modern Analects product was an idea sparked at 3:30am on a Wednesday during the pandemic.

Backstory: I began reading books more since there wasn't much else to do during the beginning of covid lockdowns and soon grew to dislike bending pages whenever I stopped reading...

And I also grew to dislike using random business cards/other items as a placeholder. 

So in the wee hours of that one Wednesday morning, I created these.

Bookmarks are one of those items you don't own, but it would be nice to have.

Over the past 18 months I've sold close to 100 bookmark sets across the US and in Canada.

I scratched my own itch... and realized there was dozens of others who had the same itch. 

I came across ~30 bookmarks when I was cleaning out some things and I'm here to offer them up.

Here's the steps to get one:

  • Respond to this email with an address to ship to.

  • Pay $5 for shipping (cashapp, venmo, apple pay, zelle, paypal all work)

And that's it. 

Something to Watch:

Why old friends keep you poor...

A Song to Listen to:

Rosbeh, Paulii - Oceans

A Tweet to Ponder On: