Lessons Learned After 60 days of No Alcohol

Alcohol isn't the problem, the problem is a lack of impulse control.

Following The Trends

Think of those horrifically bulky white Fila sneakers, Negroni Sbagliatos (a disgrace), and plant based meat.

These are all examples of trends. A general direction of change, or a way of behaving that is developing and becoming more common.

And I usually avoid trends, but I did hop on one back in the fall of 2022, where I cut alcohol out entirely for sixty days.

The "booze is evil" trend has grown in popularity across many sub-groups within the internet. Tech bros, alpha gym rats, and ex-sorority girls are all ditching the booze and promoting their new lifestyles.

So one day, I told myself why not?? I mean it was honestly time for me to put myself through an alcohol sabbatical.

But over the weeks I found that alcohol isn't the problem, the problem is a lack of impulse control.

So let me explain.

You Are Who (And What) You Surround Yourself With.

I had the fortune of being part of a BIG10 school atmosphere — which is short for; "I attended an institution where binge drinking felt like it was part of the curriculum."

And like most college kids, you do get your act together and secure a full time job somewhere. My first job was a sales rep at a software company.

This period of my life felt like pledging a fraternity all over again, but I was getting paid this time.

For those who've never been part of that dynamic, sales training involves a lot of "team building" exercises and promoting this self proclaimed "culture". The culture is booze-fueled from the start. And if you skip out, you're looked at as a bad apple.

And as I learned moving through positions in my early twenties... drinking after (and sometimes during) the job wasn't all too taboo. Companies seemed to promote more about what goes on afterhours rather than the actual job itself.

But as the hangovers got worse and my credit card balance grew faster than I could pay it, I had to make a change.

Life Is All About Tradeoffs.

Last time I checked there is not one app, nor a startup that's been able to create more time out of thin air.

And time is the single asset that we must be stingy with, remember that you cannot be in multiple places at once.

But I notice so many of us are frugal with their money, yet generous with their time, when it should be the reverse.

So if you're drinking for 4-5 hours a night over 2-3 nights per week... that's a lot of time spent not doing something else. I can think of so many nights where I wish I stayed home and did (literally) anything other than drink.

And it's not the money saved that's the biggest perk, nor the health benefits. Those are obvious.

It's the reward of getting way more things done with the same amount of time that everyone else has.

During this period I became best friends with Heineken 0.0%'s and ginger ale. Around this timeframe is when I found out that all I really needed was just something in my hand.

It took me very little time to figure out how insufferable some people are when you're not just as wasted as they are.

For the record, I still went out during this 60 day period, but I was getting to the party late and leaving early.

I was able to workout on Saturday & Sunday mornings.

And Mondays didn't suck anymore.

Be The Good Apple

There's value in being public about the changes you're making. 

And not in a "look at the new me" virtue signaling way, but in a way that let's folks know that you're doing this for you and nobody else.

You'll find that your peers will express their own desires to change... and maybe even express how surprised they are about your decision.

"Man I need to quit vaping, but I cant seem to figure out how."

"I wish I could stay away from alcohol for that long."

"No booze during the holidays?? Are you crazy?!"

So make the statement and make it public, because there's a friend out there that needs a nudge.

The best way, perhaps the only way, to change others is to become an example.

Naval Ravikant

As you change, others tend to join along. So as you put yourself in uncomfortable situations, remember that people are watching you.

Instead of that one bad apple spoiling the bunch, be the good apple.

The weeks that came after my 60-day hiatus weren't perfect, but I felt more in control of my time and my impulses.

I'm now far more intentional with who I surround myself with. I say 'no' way more these days and love my headacheless mornings.

But I'm also realistic. I can tell you that Buffalo wings taste much better with a cold beer than a water. Alcohol has a place in my life, I run the show now. I don't let the alcohol run me.

So to the folks that have cut booze out completely, I applaud you and hope that you stay committed.

As for me, I'll have my negroni with Monkey 47 please.

Liked what you read? Make sure to subscribe.

Cool stuff I found over the past week:

  1. A book I just started: Build: An Unorthodox Guide to Making Things Worth Making, by Tony Faddel - if you've ever owned an iPod, this guy was behind the scenes. Find on Google Play | Amazon

  2. I Got a Cheap Hair Transplant In Turkey, the Recovery Was Agony, and I'd Do It Again In a Heartbeat