A fresh coat of paint.

“The most dangerous phrase in the language is, ‘We’ve always done it this way.’”

Grace Murray Hopper

Quick story time:

Back in the spring of 2019, I walked into a job interview.

Neither the company, nor the job I had any previous knowledge of, but I trusted the judgement of the staffing firm who quite honestly knew nothing about me.

The vice president mentioned during the interview that “he wanted to hire someone fresh out, to change the way we do things.”

But why?

A very successful private firm that lasted through 2 recessions wants to change things? If it ain’t broke don’t fix it.. right? Why change what’s been working?

That’s where the answer lies.

May 1st, 2019 was my first day as a new hire and in retrospect, I understand the value in hiring a fresh, malleable mind to challenge the status quo.

Never work with people that are afraid to consider a fresh coat of paint.