Eye on your prize.

I came across this tweet from one of my favorite hustlers under 30. A product of immigrant parents, his hands are in real estate, venture capital, and all over social media.

This tweet hit me so hard that I have a paper copy stuck on my bulletin board:

Pop culture has a way with luring its prey in. One may not notice the control mass media has on the world, but next time you browse through Twitter, Facebook, or Instagram, analyze what you see. Do you notice where your peer’s focus is? What are they paying attention to? What are they spending their time and money on?

The age of the influencer is as detrimental as it is entertaining. The more time you spend engaged in someone else’s craft, the less time you have for your own hopes and dreams.

The Bachelorette wont help pay your bills, sorry to break it to you.