Embrace uncertainty.

“There’s only one way to deal with uncertainty. And that is to not fear it. So, don’t resist uncertainty, don’t run away from it, but instead embrace it wholeheartedly!”

Avis Viswanathan

Outcomes we cannot influence can be disruptive to our being.

Accepting the unexpected is an acquired taste, a learned art.

Musician turned writer Derek Sivers wrote about embracing uncertainty in his timeless blog post titled How to Thrive in an Unknowable Future:

  1. Prepare for the worst

  2. Expect disaster

  3. Own as little as possible

  4. Choose opportunity not loyalty

  5. Choose the plan with the most options

  6. Avoid planning

These are David’s six steps to thrive in times such as the period we are in. Which make sense? Which confuse you? How can you adapt and overcome?

Abiding by this list is a challenge within itself, but start to think about a couple things:

  • What do I own? Why do I own it? Do I need it?

  • Where am I? Is this the right path? Do I have other options?

  • If shit hits the fan, how will I adjust? Can I adjust?

Want to read David’s blog post in its entirety? Click here

How did I find out about David? Was this podcast he had with Tim Ferriss here.