Digital clutter

“Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.”

William Morris

I write this post sitting in my grandmother’s living room, she is no hoarder by definition but she can make soup out of a rock.

Generations of memories fill the walls and cupboards while the scents coming out of the kitchen bring you a unique comfort.

As she coasts through her mid seventies the hardest act of her is letting go of material things.

My grandfather passed three years ago — since then shes turned his shorts into pillows and has a bag of his hair from when she’d give him haircuts (I’m not making this up).

Digital clutter has the same application as physical, why do you need 6,000 pictures on your camera?

Most of us keep Snapchat for the sole reason that it gives us a daily reminder on when life was better.

Like a cluttered place, a cluttered mind won’t get you far.

The past six months I’ve been gradually adopting a minimalist lifestyle.

This doesn’t mean I’m a monk and wear one pair of boxers per month but it’s a mindset, a toolkit to live with less when we’re surrounded by more:

I’ll leave it to you to learn more: